Buttle's World

5 June, 2009

Oprah Makes Me Sick

Filed under: Posts — clgood @ 16:06

Or, rather, she probably would if I were foolish enough to pay any attention to her. Kudos to Newsweek for taking her on.

But back on the Oprah show, McCarthy’s charges went virtually unchallenged. Oprah praised McCarthy’s bravery and plugged her book, but did not invite a physician or scientist to explain to her audience the many studies that contradict the vaccines-autism link. Instead, Oprah read a brief statement from the Centers for Disease Control saying there was no science to prove a connection and that the government was continuing to study the problem. But McCarthy got the last word. “My science is named Evan, and he’s at home. That’s my science.” Oprah might say that McCarthy was just sharing her first-person story and that Oprah wasn’t endorsing her point of view. But by the end of the show, the take-away message for any mother with young kids was pretty clear: be afraid.

James Randi has also had experience with the manipulative charlatan.

Back in April of 1995, I’d been contacted by the Oprah show and made an offer to do a second appearance with them. I simply told them, “No thanks”; I’d already been sandbagged by that show. In that appearance, I’d been told, just before I left my hotel for the studio, that the previously-scheduled “psychics” – for whom I was well prepared – would not be showing up.  I went all the way out to the location and then found out, moments before the show went on the air – live – that those major “psychics” actually were appearing on the show. Though I’d I’d prepared video and newspaper material to contradict the pompous and false claims of those two scheduled “psychics,” I’d left the data behind at the hotel when told I’d be without opposition, and I had nothing in hand. It was a blatant, calculated lie designed to trap me, and I fell for it. But I’d not do it again. I’m sure Oprah doesn’t need me, and I have no need of such unethical behavior. There are rules, even though Oprah doesn’t seem to know them.

Woo is not harmless. Woo can kill. Oprah’s overexposed name should be added soon alongside Jenny McCarthy’s in the Body Count.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

